Partician Pip Celtic Boys For DYFL Under 17 League Title

Patrician YC were crowned DYFL league champions on Monday night following an enthralling win against local rivals Celtic Bhoys. Both teams went into the game with a chance of winning the League, however, a draw for Patrician would have been enough to cap a fine season.

Celtic Bhoys started the game strongy and controlled the midfield through Caolán Boyd, Ryan McKinney and Shea McComiskey. However, a disciplined performance by a well-drilled Patrician side limited Celtic Bhoys to two opportunities, whilst providing a notable threat on the counter.

The winning Patrician team with managers
The winning Patrician team with managers Jonathan Holland and Paul Smyth.

Celtic Bhoys should have taken the lead after some great work by Tiernan McVeigh down the left which resulted in a cross that should have been converted by Ryan McKinney. At the other end, Patrician’s Andy McCoubrey and Joe Healy had a few half chances before Celtic Bhoy’s keeper, Ronan Holland, pulled off a wonderful save to prevent an own goal following a wicked deflection.

In the second half Patrician were more dominant and exploited the space in behind Celtic’s back four with the pace of Caolán ‘Kiwi’ Bentham and Jordan McCoubrey.

The breakthrough came on 55 minutes when Joe Healy slid the ball through to Jordan McCoubrey who was clinical with his finish under pressure from three defenders. An industrious performance by Niall Laverty ensured Patrician’s control of the midfield, and commanding performances by Conor Breen and Morgan Fitzpatrick kept Celtic Bhoy’s attack at bay. The match was effectively over on 59 minutes when a brilliant through-ball by the wizard Caolán Bentham found Jordan McCoubrey, who lobbed the ball over the onrushing keeper for his second of the game, to the delight of Patrician’s managers and supporters.

Celtic Bhoys pulled a goal back 4 minutes into added time (84 mins) through Dairmuid McKnabb. However, a late onslaught wasn’t enough to prevent an impressive Patrician side from victory and the 2016 league title.