Kilclief U-14’s Claim Down C Championship Title


Under 14 Down Hurling Championship Final.

Kilclief   10 – 11   St Paul’s  0  – 2

Midfielder Peter Hamilton in action for Kilclief against St Paul’s.

KILCLIEF GAC hurlers romped home past the St Paul’s team to enjoy a very convincing victory in a non-stop action match.

Both teams gave their all, but it was Kilclief who had the finishing power to notch up goals in double figures. Eoin Breen opened the score with an early point in play and the first goal came early  with Padraig Doran nipping one in while in a goalmouth scramble in the St Paul’s goalmouth. Pearce Laverty then crossed to Ronan Davy who notched up Kilclief’s second goal.

Mark Curran then took a point over the St Paul’s bar and St Paul’s were starting to look under pressure. At this point an altercation between a a St Paul’s defender and Davy led to him being red carded. But despite losing a player, Kilclief settled down and continued to harangue their opponents.

Odhran Degan then took another two goals in succcession making a comeback by St Paul’s all that more difficult. Pearce Laverty then sent the sloithar to the back of the net followed by Finn McGirr also on the scorecard with an excellent goal effort.

Kilclief U-!4 hurling captain Louis McMullan receives the Championship shield from Down GAA hurling board chairman Gerard McShane.

The first half ended with Laverty claiming another point in play.

The second half opened with Degan scoring a point and after an superb cross from Padraig Doran took another point. The Kilclief team were looking unstoppable and St Paul’s had yet to win a point. The Kilclief pressure was relentless. They were the hungrier side but had a slight advantage of the Kilclief hurling pedigree, as St Paul’s had a younger and less experienced team.

Mark Curran, Eoin Lachlin and Eoin Breen added another three goals to the score to putting the game beyond the reach for St Paul’s. However, St Paul’s stuck to their task and managed to salvage two points in play. Kilclief finished with points from sub Philly Doran, Laverty and Peter Hamilton.

Gerard McShane, Down GAA hurling board chairman, said: “St Paul’s, while a younger team played well and will have their chance again next year. Kilclief were a much stronger side and proved to be the winners on the day. The Championship has seen some great matches and it is heartening to see so many young players taking up this sport. Hurling continues to  revive in Co Down.”

Kilclief team: Ruairi O’Hare, Glen O’Neill, Louis McMullan, Conrad McMullan, Conal Magee, Padraig McGir, Peter Hamilton, Padraig Doran, Eoin Breen, Declan McClements, Ronan Davy, Mark Curran, Odhran Degan, Pearce Laverty, Finn McGirr.

The Kilclief U-14 hurlers who won the C Championship final.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here