Irish Superbike Easter Festival Races

AS the Enkelon Trophy gets set to celebrate its 35th year, making it the longest running trophy in Ireland’s racing,  Mark Sanlon, Press Officer for the MCRRCI and Clerk of the Course, announced,  “We are pleased to again bring you Ireland’s only Role for Pole qualifying. A similar format has been used in World Superbikes and British Superbikes for a few years. “We are also pleased to welcome back our sponsor for the “roll for pole” : NUTT TRAVEL.COM ” Also, we would like to thank Billy and Marty Nutt for this sponsorship and background support over a number of years and our Qualifying slogan  “SAIL to POLE with Nutt Travel.ComSail to pole with Nutt Travel has been introduced to give local competitors something different in the way they have to qualify and give the spectators a new experience. [caption id="attachment_20102" align="alignleft" width="300" caption="The Irish Superbike Easter Festival Races will run on Friday and Saturday 22nd-23rd April."][/caption] “2010 Pole Position being decided on the very last lap of Q3 by Marshal Neill from Cameron Donald, Marshal went on to win 2010 ISB Championship.” He added that the Irish Superbikes SAIL to POLE with Nutt Travel will start with an untimed practice session at 11.15am approx. on Friday 22nd April. 11.45 am Q1 is the first timed session, where the fastest 20 riders will qualify for Q2 (Over 10 minutes) 1.30pm Q2 fastest 10 riders will qualify for Q3 (over 8 minutes) 2.30 pm Q3 fastest rider will SAIL to POLE with Nutt Travel and £250 plus Pole winner’s Trophy. (Over 6 minutes). There is also a full set of Championship races on the Friday afternoon. Saturday 23rd April Race Day will start with warm up sessions for all race classes, with the first race of the day kicking off around 11am. The feature 12 lap race will be the Enkalon Trophy in its Anniversary 35th year backed again by the Enkalon Club with a race prize fund of £2600 with the winner picking up £1250. The Enkalon Trophy Race is scheduled for 2pm on Saturday 23rd April. Mark Sanlon added, “On behalf of the Motorcycle Road Racing Club of Ireland and the Killinchy & District Club, we would like to thank the Enkalon Motorcycle Club for their enthusiasm and support over the last 34 years in our traditional Easter Saturday event which is well know to all race fans as the Enkalon Trophy Races. “The event has evolved over the last seven years from being at Aghadowey to the present day venue of Bishopscourt Racing Circuit just outside Downpatrick and now a Friday/Saturday event. “2011 brings another land mark in the history of the Enkalon Trophy Race as it reaches its 35th Year, the longest running trophy in the history of Ireland’s Motorcycling Racing and we congratulate the Enkalon Club and wish them well on this Celebration Year and hope to see everyone on Friday 22nd & Saturday 23rd April at Bishopscourt for the 35th Enkalon Trophy Races. PAST WINNERS 1977     Ray McCullough 1978     Noel Hudson 1979     Jackie Hughes 1980     George Farlow 1981     Jackie Hughes 1982     Sam McClements 1983     Johnny Ray 1984     Colin Wilson 1985     Alan Irwin 1986     Gary Cowan 1987     Johnny Rea 1988     Gary Cowan 1989     Robert Dunlop 1990     George Farlow 1991     Philip McCallen 1992     Dave Leach 1993     Rodney McCurdy 1994     Johnny Rea 1995     Alan Irwin 1996     Alan Irwin 1997     Rodney McCurdy 1998     Adrain Coates 1999     Rodney McCurdy 2000     Michael Swann 2001     Michael Swann 2002     Adrain Archibald 2003     Hilton Hincks 2004     Derek Sheils 2005     Alastair Seeley 2006     Alastair Seeley 2007     Cameron Donald 2008     Michael Laverty 2009     Keith Amor 2010     Marshall Neill 2011 ? ? ]]>