Carville Wins Ardglass Captain’s Day

Ardglass Golf Club overall winner was Teconnaught golfer Ciaran Carville

Ardglass Golf Club overall winner was Teconnaught golfer Ciaran Carville

Kieran McMahon’s Captain’s Day at Ardglass Golf Club took place last Saturday, with 241 golfers taking part, but only five managed to get over 36 points given the challenging, windy conditions writes Jim Masson.

Kieran McMahon, Ardglass Golf Club Captain pictured with his wife Roisin. (Photos by Jim Masson / Down News ©)

The hotly contended Captain’s Day Prize was won by 17 handicapper Ciaran Carville from Teconnaught who scored 22 points in the front nine and 21 in the back nine for an impressive 43 points.


Ciaran said: “I had a birdie at the 18th which clinched it for me. But the from nine was crucial as I had six pars in the first six holes, a dream start, which kept me on course.

“My only real disaster was having a ding at the 12th hole, but I kept my focus and it paid off. The wind was really tough to play in but I tried to keep out of the rough as much as I could.

Overall winner Ciaran Carville from Teconnaught on 43 points pictured with Club Captain Kieran McMahon and Raisin McMahon.

“The course was in really good shape and certainly a challenge given the weather conditions.”.

The early birds teed off at 6.30am and the eventual winner overall was Cairan Carville who went out early and set the target to beat at 43 points.

Ciaran Carville was just enjoying his second season at golf and and hit form on the big day with his first big win. He is a big hitter and show show again in competitions going forward.

His score led the scoreboard for the best part of the day until Kilclief 11-handicapper Senan Sharon came close with an excellent 40 points for second place.

Kieran McMahon, Ardglass Golf Club Captain, second right, raises the flag at 6am on the day of his Captain’s Day event. Included are Club President Peter Stewart, Lady Captain Teresa McAteer, and Vice Captain Brian Deeny.

Sean Sharvin said: “I’ve always enjoyed playing in the wind. It makes the game more interesting.” His worse score was a bogey as he grossed a very credible 77 points.

Ciaran Fitzsimons took third place overall with 38 points. The Coney Island player is a former Club Champion several times over, but the last of his wins was back in 2009.

His huge golfing experience showed he is not to be written off with a front nine of five pars and four bogeys and a back nine which with a birdie at the 11th, an eagle at the 15th with a gross of 73.

The on-form Christian Hood notched up a sound 38 points with a gross of 78. However, Ciaran Fitzsimons just managed to nudge him into fourth place even with his tidy back nine performance.

The earlybirds: pictured with Ardglass Golf Club Captain Kieran McMahon and his wife Roisin are (l-r) John Hynds, Ryan Kelly, Conall Milligan and Robert Martin.

Michael Donnelly picked up the fifth place on 37 points just squeezing past Ryan McBirney on a count back.

The Best Gross prize was won by the ever-green Daniel Vaughan, a five-time Club Champion. His front nine showed 3 over and his back nine was one under with a couple of birdies from the last three holes finishing strongly.

A Past Captain Gerry Kelly with current Ardglass Golf Club Captain, Kieran McMahon.

Adam Millar took the second spot for the gross prize as runner-up. He was six-over at the turn but managed to birdie birdied the two par fives on the back nine, finishing on an impressive 76.

The winner of the Council prize was Hon. Treasurer Andrew Stevenson with 32 points.

This was a second triumph for Coney Island and another 32 point score was enough for Gerry Kelly to win the Past Captain’s prize, edging out Mark Bohill. 

Barton Shield Captain Marty Rourke won the Teams Captain prize and the Team Players prize went to Stefan Mason, edging out Roy McEvoy.

Some of the American guests: second left is Anthony Mauriello who won the American prize on Kieran McMahon’s Captain’s Day at trdglass Golf Club.

The Captain’s Guest prizes were won by Colm Magee and Conor McStay. Also, a special prize the contingent of American guests was won by Anthony Mauriello.

Jonny Feenan won the Longest Drive prize with a colossal hit at the 11th, and the Nearest the Pin winners were James Milligan, Thomas Bell, John Magorrian, Gary Murdock and Gary Lennon.

The competition for 5 and 6 Day members, played earlier in the week, was won by Dr Malachy Murphy in first place. Brian McGrath came in as runner-up.