Be Active Cup Football Tournament Kicks Off on 20th July

Chairperson Kicks Off Be Active Cup Football Tournament

The Newry Showgrounds will host the finals of the Be Active soccer tournaments in early August.

Newry Mourne and Down District Council Chairperson, Councillor Pete Byrne has announced the Chairperson’s Be Active Cup Junior and Senior Football Tournaments. 

The senior tournament will bring 10 teams from various leagues across the district together to compete for the champion title — winner of the Chairperson’s Be Active Cup.

As part of the event, the Irish Football Association (IFA) Grass Roots Programme will select two teams from across the district to play each other for the Junior Be Active Trophy at 6pm before the Senior final at 7.30pm on 1 August at Newry Showgrounds.

The tournament was specially developed to provide a platform for football teams, young and old and for all abilities from across the district to play competitive sport.

It will bring over 110 footballers together and afford them the opportunity to compete with neighbouring teams from other leagues. 

(l-r) Chairperson of Newry, Mourne and Down District Council, Cllr Pete Byrne with Conor Haughey, Head of Service, Outdoor Leisure during the launch of the NMDDC Be Active Cup soccer tournament.

Newry Mourne and Down District Council Chairperson, Councillor Pete Byrne, said: “I am delighted to launch this football tournament, which is more than just a series of soccer matches.

“It is a celebration of community and fitness.

“Newry Mourne and Down District Council encourages everyone to come out and support their local teams, enjoy the games, and participate in this great community event. 

“I am proud to support an event that promotes physical activity, teamwork, and local talent.

“Encouraging our residents to stay active and healthy is a key priority for us, and this tournament embodies that commitment.”

The venues for the games will be Jennings Park Newry, Kilmore Playing fields in Crossgar and Newry Showgrounds where the final will be hosted by Newry City Football Club. 

The tournament starts on 20 July and finishes on 1 August. 

Participating teams include: Ballynahinch Olympic FC, Cartwheel United FC, Cleary Celtic FC, Downpatrick FC, Killough FC, Kilmore FC, Newcastle FC, Newry Celtic FC, Rossowen FC and Windmill Stars FC.

For details of the fixtures, results and match updates, please see the NMD Be Active Facebook page in the coming weeks.