Ballynahinch 3's Overwhelm CIYMS 2's in Crawford Cup Semi-Final


Crawford Cup Semi-Final Ballynahinch 3’s 58     CIYMS 2’s 0 David Workman reports from Ballymacarn Park   Ballynahinch 3’s progressed to the final of the Crawford Cup on Easter Tuesday against their old rivals Coleraine 2s with a resounding victory over CIYMS 2s by 58 points to nil in the semi-final on Saturday. Hinch who are well placed to retain their Junior League Section 1 title having won 14 out of 15 games took the game to CIYMS from the word go and dominated proceedings throughout the match. Taking the lead with a try in the fifth minute through the veteran Mark McCormick they scored at regular intervals to lead 41 points to nil at half-time with tries from Jordan Graham, David Steele, a brace from the evergreen Johnny Cullen and one from young scrum-half Johnny Murdock. With four conversions and a penalty from out-half Robbie Irvine there was to be no way back for CIYMS. With extremely cold conditions and heavy snow falling the faithful few spectators having given up the comfort of watching the Italy/Ireland debacle were treated to a fine flowing game of rugby despite the deteriorating conditions. Further tries by Phil Orr, Matty Glenn and Johnny Cullen (his hatrick) and conversion from Robbie Irvine brought the score to 58 points to nil. With still 20 minutes to play to the relief of all and at the request of CIYMS the referee brought proceedings to a close as the pitch became covered in snow. CIYMS are to be commended for the good spirit in which the match was played. This was a fine team performance with Captain Andy Glenn leading from the front ably supported by the aging (but capable!) Ian Dornan, Johnny Coen and John Gunson. In the comfort of the clubhouse Johnny Cullen was presented with the man of the match award and match ball having scored a hatrick of superb tries. Best wishes to the team and every success in the final and their quest for a league/cup double. HInch Team: J Magowan, J Graham, J Cullen, J Coen, M McCormick, R Irvine, J Murdock, A Glenn (Capt), D Steele, I Dornan, M McDowell, R Lush, M Adams, P Orr and John Gunson.]]>


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here