130th Annual Ploughing Match At Listooder

Seaforde holds 130th annual ploughing contest for Listooder and District Ploughing Society

Seaforde holds 130th annual ploughing contest for Listooder and District Ploughing Society

Listooder & District Ploughing Society held their 130th Annual Ploughing Match near Seaforde last Saturday. Glorious sunshine greeted a large turnout of competitors and spectators who had descended onto the picturesque site in Co Down, kindly granted by Noel & Richard Kane.

Lindsay Hanna BEM (right) celebrates ploughing at 250 ploughing matches with his horses. Presented by Society President Dai Kennedy (left) and Chairman Martin Gill. (Photos courtesy of Listooder and District Ploughing Society.)

The day started with a special presentation to Society Vice Chairman Lindsay Hanna BEM who was celebrating ploughing with horses at 250 matches.

Speaking after another successful event, Society Chairman commented “Thank you to everyone who has contributed to a wonderful day – to our host, all competitors and officials, to all our sponsors, and it was great to see so many spectators enjoy the day.

“We are delighted to support our chosen charity Air Ambulance NI and thank you to everyone for their contribution.”

Listooder Society President Dai Kennedy in action at Seaforde on Saturday

SPECIAL PRIZES (& sponsors)

AJ’s Diner: Crossgar Youngest Competitor – Barry Cooke (Annacloy)

Ballynahinch Building Supplies: Senior Competitor – Raymond Clifford (Ballyboley)

Johnny Gill Landscapes Outstanding Achievement – Ben Jamison (Ballynahinch)

Carryduff Tyre Centre: Ransomes Plough Award – David Grattan (Banbridge)

Massey’s of Saintfield: Co Down Vintage Championship – David Grattan (Banbridge)

Some local ploughing enthusiasts enjoying the ploughing at Seaforde on Saturday which was in aid of Air Ambulance NI.

Quoile Fuels Ltd: Reserve Vintage Champion – Gerry Byrne (Rep of Ire)

BLRC: Vintage Champion – David Grattan (Banbridge)

Blain Bros Saintfield Co Down Championship – Andrew Gill (Listooder)

Kerr Tyres Saintfield Reserve Champion – Matthew Simms (Donegal)

Champion of the Field – Andrew Gill (Listooder).

World Style sponsored by Donard View Service Station

1. Andrew Gill (Listooder)

2. Matthew Simms (Donegal)

3. David Gill (Ploughing academy for Northern Ireland)

4. Ian Simms (Kilroot)

5. (Equal) Conor McKeown Ploughing (Lough) & Rodney Crawford (Moneyreagh)

Classic Class sponsored by JL Engineering

1. Nigel Gamble (Ballyclare)

2. Jackie Moore (Bangor)

3. Robert Acheson (Ballymena)

4. David Lemon Snr (Ards)

5. Dai Kennedy (Listooder)

Prize winners from Listooder’s ploughing match on Saturday in aid of Air Ambulance NI.

Vintage Senior Class sponsored by Norman McBriar & Son

1. David Grattan (Banbridge)

2. Gerry Byrne (Rep of Ireland)

3. James Adair (Ballyclare)

4. Mark Taggart (Ballyeaston)

Vintage Intermediate Class sponsored by James Glover & Sons Ltd

1. Ben Jamison (Ballynahinch)

2. Marc Gamble (Ballyclare)

3. Raymond Clifford (Ballyboley)

4. Jeffrey Cush (Lurgan)

Novice class sponsored by Wilfred Patterson Auto Electrics Crossgar

1. David Carson (Ploughing academy for Northern Ireland)

2. Martin Beattie (Ballymena)

3. Paul Graham (Loughgall)

4. George Burton (Maze)

Horses Winner sponsored by Douglas Funeral Directors

Lindsay Hanna BEM

Style & Appearance sponsored by Carryduff Tyre Centre

John Weir Jnr